Category Archives: Breaking News

ANNOUNCING OUR EXCLUSIVE 2015 SCRIPTFEST PANELS, PANELISTS & EVENTS!

Exclusive Panel SF Rotator
Join us and our friends from CAA, Paradigm, Gersh, Energy Entertainment, Madhouse Entertainment, Circle of Confusion, Benderspink, Kaplan/Perrone, MXN, Artillery, Ridley Scott Films, Blumhouse, Wonderland Sound & Vision, Perfect Storm, Bad Hat Harry & dozens more for all of our exclusive panels, panelists, prizes and giveaways at Scriptfest 2015 this weekend May 30th – 31st in Burbank!

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Universal Picks Up Hot Upcoming Fantasy Book Series “Queen Of Hearts”

Queen-of-Hearts-The-Wonder-Colleen-Oakes-Feature
Based on a three-book proposal, the pic will follow the eponymous Queen of Hearts from her beginnings as a lonely, good-natured princess to her rise as the cruel and murderous tyrant of Wonderland. Pitched tonally in the vein of Maleficent and Universal’s own Snow White & The Huntsman.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Jessica Chastain Set To Lead Weinstein Comedy “Plus One” With Amy Schumer Eyed To Co-Star

PlusOne
Chastain Plays Rachel, a woman that finds herself lost after coming out of a long term relationship. With all of her closest friends being married, she has no choice but to turn to her wild and crude acquaintance Summer to be her wing woman and get her back into the dating scene.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} “Workaholics” Helmer Kyle Newacheck To Direct And Nicholas Stoller To Write Fox’s Comedy “Friend From Home”

Friend from home
The project, which is also produced by Stoller, has been described as a two-handed comedy centering on a small town dork that re-invents himself when he goes off to college.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{HEAT METER} New Sci-Fi Thriller Spec “Vision” Into Major Territories

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 4.36.11 PM
Scripted by in-demand genre scribes Alex Pastor and David Pastor, the project is being pitched as a grounded sic-fi thriller in the vein of Minority Report.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Paramount Eyeing Justin Timberlake and Josh Gad For Comedy “Bad In Bed”


The story follows a hunk fitness instructor whose world is turned upside down when he his told that he is lacking in bed, leading him to consult an overly sensitive love-making genius in order to get in touch with his emotional side.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Benedict Cumberbatch Set To Play Thomas Edison For Weinstein Company’s “The Current War”

benedict edison
The spec, which sold to The Weinstein Co. in 2012, follows the intense rivalry between inventors Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse as they battled to be the first to commercially implement a practical system of electricity.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Rising UK Director James Nunn Signs With Kanak Management

timthumb
Kanak Management has signed up-and-coming UK director James Nunn, known for directing the 2012 action/thriller Tower Block and the 2013 actioner Green Street 3: Never Back Down.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Walden Media Tackles Racial Equality Sports Pic “’51 Dons”

Dons
In 1951, the collegiate football team the San Francisco Dons had an undefeated record and several players who would go on to become hall of famers, but would decline to play in the Orange Bowl due to the policy that the team would have to leave out their two African American players to participate.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Zero Gravity Management Signs Launch Pad Alum Trevor Mayes

Va3HkDX3_400x400
Congratulations to Trevor Mayes on signing with Eric Williams at Zero Gravity Management!

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Fox Enters Development on “The League Of Extraordinary Gentlemen” Reboot

League
Perhaps, the third times a charm for THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENTLEMEN. After a lackluster feature film in 2003, and a failed attempt to kick of f a TV series in 2013, 20th Century Fox and Davis Entertainment have decided to go back to the source, planning to reboot a potential franchise based on Alan Moore’s comic book series.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} “Mission: Impossible 6″ Already In Development At Paramount

Mission
With the fifth installment set for July, Paramount, Bad Robot and Skydance Productions have set the sixth. Tom Cruise, David Ellison, Dana Goldberg and J.J. Abrams are returning to produce, with Don Granger and Matt Grimm set to serve as executive producers.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Live-Action “Inspector Gadget” Reboot On The Way From “Lego Movie” Producer Dan Lin

gadjet-kanor--644x400
Go-Go-Gadget Reboot! Everybody’s favorite bumbling cyborg policeman is making his return to the big screen via Lin Pictures and Disney with another live-action interpretation of the beloved cartoon classic.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Scott Free Pre-Emptively Nabs Bestselling Author Tucker Max’s Upcoming Book “Mate”

Mate
The adaptation will follow a behavioral psychologist writing what he intends to be the definitive guide to women, dating, and sex.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} “Love Actually” Director Richard Curtis To Pen Bee Gees Biopic

richard curtis
The biopic will follow the lives of the Gibb brothers from their humble beginnings in Australia to their rise to the top of the charts, followed by their fall and undeniable rise again as one of the most iconic and acclaimed groups in the history of music

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Paramount Nabs Bestselling Evolution Thriller “Genocide Of One”

61ERewaTqGL._SL300_
The engaging thriller follows a three-year-old child that is the next step in human evolution that could be the savior of humanity, or the destruction of it. Erwin Stoff is set to produce with Elizabeth Raposo and Josh Phillips overseeing the project for the studio.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} 21 Laps and 20th Century Fox Set Hit Novel “The Fantastic Family Whipple”

FamilyWhipple
The coming-of-age family comedy follows twelve-year-old Arthur Whipple, who has grown up in a family that have always been the greatest at everything, priding themselves on breaking world records, no matter how obscure.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Hot Drug Kingpin Novel “Doctor Dealer” Set With Producer Sean Daniel

51Q1xJUOraL._SL300_
Sean Daniel will produce the adaptation based on the bestselling novel “Doctor Dealer: The Rise and Fall of an All-American Boy and His Multimillion-Dollar Cocaine Empire” by Mark Bowden. Jason Brown will oversee development on the true-crime drama.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Lin Pictures Nabs New Fantasy Novel “A Darker Shade Of Magic”

A-Darker-Shade-of-Magic-Blog-Tour-Button
Written by Victoria Schwab, the fantasy adventure takes place in a universe with multiple parallel London cities designated by color, some with magic, but all vastly different. A traveler-magician who covets the ability to hop between dimensions is forced to team up with an unlikely street thief to save all of the worlds from a growing threat.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Hot Eisner-Nominated Comic “Nimona” Set Up With Roy Lee’s Vertigo Entertainment

nimonabanner
The series chronicles the adventures of Nimona, a exciteable, trouble-making young shapeshifter who operates as a sidekick to knight-turned-mad scientist supervillain Lord Ballister Blackheart.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} DreamWorks Pre-Emptively Picks Up Hot Manuscript “Phenomenon”

betty+robinson
DreamWorks has preemptively closed a deal to adapt Roseanne Montillo’s upcoming novel, Phenomenon. The narrative nonfiction details the life of Elizabeth “Betty” Robinson, who won the first Olympic 100-meter dash for women.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Hot YA Novel “My Lady Jane” Hits The Market, Out To Producers

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 3.08.38 PM
YA novel My Lady Jane is hot on the market, with sources confirming that Holly Frederick of Curtis Brown Ltd is out to three interested producers, with the potential of going wide.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Relativity Media Picks Up NY Times Bestseller “Everything I Never Told You”

relativity-media-logo1
Relativity Media has optioned Celeste Ng’s debut novel Everything I Never Told You. The New York Times Bestseller and New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2014 has also been named Amazon’s #1 Best Book of 2014.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} MGM Moving Forward With Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson Sequel “Shanghai Dawn”

shanghai-noon
MGM is officially moving forward with the third film in the series that consists of the 2000 film “Shanghai Noon”, and the 2003 sequel “Shanghai Knights”. Chan and Wilson are officially set to return.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} {UPDATED} Drew Goddard Boards Fox’s Upcoming Sci-Fi Adaptation “Departure”

departure
Immensely in-demand genre director Drew Goddard has been tapped to helm the 20th Century Fox’s sci-fi adaptation, which follows a group of plan crash survivors that discover that they have a complex connection to the past, present, and future.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} “X-Men: First Class” Scribes Ashley Miller and Zack Stentz Board Universal’s “Arabian Knights”

tumblr_metn3jund11r0yglfo1_500
Originally sold as a pitch with a script by Kyle Ward back in 2011, Arabian Knights is trucking along at Universal Pictures with help from Imagine Entertainment and Blacklight Transmedia.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Vince Vaughn Set To Star In “Terrible Twos” Comedy From Universal

Vaughn
The film centers on two best friends who are pretty much absentee fathers that suddenly have to take care of their sons for a night. All goes awry when they magically switch bodies with the 2-year-olds.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Peter Berg And Misher Films Developing Laurie Hiett Drama “The Colonel’s Wife”

Berg
Director Peter Berg and Misher Films are developing The Colonel’s Wife, the true story of Laurie Hiett. The wife of decorated Colonel James Hiett, Laurie Hiett smuggled heroine and cocaine from Colombia while her husband led the charge in America’s War on Drugs.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Lionsgate Sets Undercover Motorcycle Sting Operation Story “Gone In 30 Seconds”

30sec
The popular magazine article following the major Los Angeles motorcycle sting operation is getting the film treatment. The March 18th article details an undercover operation where four California Highway Patrol detectives infiltrated the growing sports bike subculture of Los Angeles to take down the black market demand for stolen bike parts.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

{TB EXCLUSIVE} Nonfiction Women Warrior Study “THE AMAZONS” Set at Odd Lot

Amazons
Published in 2014, the book by Adrienne Mayor is an in depth study of the group of female horse archers who originated in the territories around the Black Sea close to 1500 BC. She connects the mythical characters of Ancient Greece to the women that fought as warriors in the territories between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea.

CLICK HERE TO DIG DEEPER

Page 1 of 3212345...102030...Last »