{TB EXCLUSIVE} Universal Picks Up Hot Upcoming Fantasy Book Series “Queen Of Hearts”

queen of hearts

 EXCLUSIVE
 〉The first entry in the series will hit shelves in 2016

has picked up hot Alice in Wonderland prequel trilogy , written by Elly in Bloom series writer . Based on a three-book proposal, the pic will follow the eponymous Queen of Hearts from her beginnings as a lonely, good-natured princess to her rise as the cruel and murderous tyrant of Wonderland. Pitched tonally in the vein of Maleficent and Universal’s own Snow White & The Huntsman, Queen of Hearts will be based upon the forthcoming Harper Collins novels, originally published via the BookSparks imprint SparkPress. Universal’s director of development Sara Scott will oversee the adaptation.

The first two installments of the Queen of Hearts series, titled The Crown and The Wonder, were initially published through Sparkpress before Harper Collins’ YA banner HarperTeen bought the series. The first installment of the series has been retitled Prisoner of Hearts and is set for publication in 2016, with the two remaining installments to be released in subsequent years. The cinematic origin story, which has been favorably compared to Gregory Maguire’s Wicked series, received rave reviews from readers, critics, and fellow authors alike, and won the 2014 Next Generation Indie Book Award for Young Adult Fiction.

Oakes has written for both teens and adults and is previously known for the beloved Elly in Bloom romance series. She’s currently writing her second YA fantasy series, the Wendy Darling Saga, which presents a new spin on the world and characters of Peter Pan, told through the perspective of Wendy Darling.

Universal is currently dominating 2015, with the studio’s last two releases proving to be massive critical and financial successes. Furious 7 and Pitch Perfect 2 both topped the box office, with Furious 7 grossing more than $1.5 billion worldwide, making it the fourth highest-grossing film of all time, the highest grossing of 2015, and the most profitable film in the history of the studio. Still to come this summer is the highly anticipated Jurassic World, the raunchy comedy sequel Ted 2, the Amy Schumer comedy Trainwreck, and the sure-to-be-a-hit animated comedy Minions.

—TO SEE ALL THE PROJECT DETAILS CLICK HERE—

 | Associate Editor
Share ThisShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on Google+0Share on TumblrPin on Pinterest0Share on Reddit0Print this pageEmail this to someone

One Response to {TB EXCLUSIVE} Universal Picks Up Hot Upcoming Fantasy Book Series “Queen Of Hearts”

Leave a Response