“Shape of Water,” “Handmaid’s Tale” and “Mrs. Maisel” Big Winners at Producers Guild Awards



The of America (PGA) handed out its 29th Annual  Awards on Saturday night from the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills.

Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water won the top prize for film, taking the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Theatrical Motion Picture, while Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Amazon’s The  Marvelous Maizel won the  Norman Felton and Danny Thomas Awards for Episodic Television for drama and comedy.

The win by The Shape of Water gives del Toro’s film a big boost when it comes to the Oscars, as the PGA is the first guild win from those in the industry. Brett Morgen’s Jane continues to win prizes as it was awarded in the documentary motion picture category.

The television winners were very much in line with the recent Golden Globes and Critics Choice wins by the two new series.

Other awards presented last night include the Stanley Kramer Award to Jordan Peele’s Get Out and the Visionary Award to filmmaker Ava DuVernay. Charles Roven received the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in film, while Ryan Murphy received the Norman Lear Achievement Award in television and Universal Pictures’ Donna Langley received the Milestone Award.

You can see the full list of winners below.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Big Sick
Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel

Call Me By Your Name
Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito

Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan

Get Out
Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele

I, Tonya
Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley

Lady Bird
Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill

Molly’s Game
Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson

The Post
Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger

**WINNER: The Shape Of Water
Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale**

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh

Wonder Woman
Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Boss Baby
Producer: Ramsey Naito

**WINNER: Coco
Producer: Darla K. Anderson**

Despicable Me 3
Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson

The Lego Batman Movie
Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

Big Little Lies (Season 1)
The Crown (Season 2)
Game of Thrones (Season 7)
**WINNER: The Handmaid’s Tale (Season 1)**
Stranger Things (Season 2)

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 9)
**WINNER: The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Season 1)**
Master of None (Season 2)
Silicon Valley (Season 4)
Veep (Season 6)

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

**WINNER: Black Mirror (Season 4)**
Fargo (Season 3)
FEUD: Bette and Joan (Season 1)
Sherlock: The Lying Detective
The Wizard of Lies

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

30 for 30 (Season 8)
60 Minutes (Season 50)
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (Season 9, Season 10)
**WINNER: Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath (Season 1, Season 2)**

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (Season 2)
Jimmy Kimmel Live! (Season 15)
**WINNER: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 4)**
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 3)
Saturday Night Live (Season 43)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

The Amazing Race (Season 29)
American Ninja Warrior” (Season 9)
Lip Sync Battle” (Season 3)
Top Chef” (Season 14)
The Voice” (Season 12, Season 13)

The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

Better Call Saul’s Los Pollos Hermanos Employee Training (Season 1)
**WINNER: Carpool Karaoke (Season 1)**
Humans of New York: The Series (Season 1)
National Endowment for the Arts: United States of Arts (Season 3)
Viceland at the Women’s March (Season 1)

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

All or Nothing: A Season with the Los Angeles Rams (Season 2)
Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Season 12)
**WINNER: Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (Season 23)**
SportsCenter with Scott Van Pelt (Season 3)
VICE World of Sports (Season 2)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

Doc McStuffins (Season 4)
Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2017
School of Rock (Season 3)
**WINNER: Sesame Street (Season 47)**
SpongeBob SquarePants (Season 10, Season 11)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

Chasing Coral
Producers: Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes

City of Ghosts
Producer: Matthew Heineman

Cries from Syria
Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor, Aaron I. Butler

Earth: One Amazing Day
Producer: Stephen McDonogh

**WINNER: Jane
Producers: Brett Morgen, Bryan Burk, Tony Gerber, James Smith**

Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower
Producers: Matthew Torne, Mark Rinehart, Joe Piscatella

The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee
Producers: Teddy Kunhardt, George Kunhardt

  | East Coast Editor

Leave A Reply