Guillermo del Toro, Jordan Peele Win First DGA Awards – The Complete List of Winners


DelToroPeeleDGAsGetty Images

On Saturday night, the Directors Guild of America (DGA) gave out its annual  at the 70th annual ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, hosted by filmmaker Judd Apatow. Presenters included  Sally Hawkins, Allison Janney, Sam Rockwell, Saiorse Ronan, Amy Schumer, John Singleton and Bradley Whitford.

Guillermo del Toro won the DGA Award for feature film for his direction of his Oscar-nominated The Shape of Water, while Jordan Peele received the award for best first-time director for Get Out.

Reed Morano won her first DGA award for directing the “Offred” episode of Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale, taking on three episodes of HBO’s Game of Thrones and one episode of Stranger Things. Beth McCarthy-Miller won in the comedy category for her direction of the “Chicklet” episode of HBO’s Veep. 

French-Canadian filmmaker Jean-Marc Valée won his first DGA for directing HBO’s Big Little Lies, which continues its award-winning streak. Matthew Heineman won for his direction of the documentary City of Ghosts, which was snubbed by the Oscar nominating committee, as was Brett Morgen’s Jane, which wasn’t even nominated for the DGA despite winning the recent Producers Guild award.

Former DGA president Michael Apted received the DGA Honorary Life Member Award in recognition of leadership in the industry, contribution to the guild and the profession of directing, and outstanding achievement. Dwight Williams received the Frank Capra Achievement Award, while Jim Tanker received the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, both in recognition of achievement in the industry and service to the .

You can see the full list of feature film nominees with complete credits here and the television nominees here, but the complete list of winners can be found below:

Feature Film Director

**WINNER: Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)**

Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird” (A24)

Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Christopher Nolan, “Dunkirk” (Warner Bros.)

Jordan Peele, “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)

First-Time Feature Film Director

Geremy Jasper, “Patti Cake$” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

William Oldroyd, “Lady Macbeth” (Roadside Attractions)

**WINNER: Jordan Peele, “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)**

Taylor Sheridan, “Wind River” (Acacia Entertainment)

Aaron Sorkin, “Molly’s Game” (STX Entertainment)

Dramatic Series

THE DUFFER BROTHERS, Stranger Things, “Chapter Nine: The Gate” (Netflix)

**WINNER: REED MORANO The Handmaid’s Tale, “Offred” (Hulu)**

JEREMY PODESWA, Game of Thrones, “The Dragon and the Wolf” (HBO)

MATT SHAKMAN, Game of Thrones, “The Spoils of War” (HBO)

ALAN TAYLOR, Game of Thrones, “Beyond the Wall” (HBO)

Comedy Series

AZIZ ANSARI,  Master of None, “The Thief” (Netflix)

MIKE JUDGE, Silicon Valley, “Server Error” (HBO)

MELINA MATSOUKAS, Master of None, “Thanksgiving” (Netflix)

**WINNER: BETH McCARTHY-MILLER, Veep, “Chicklet” (HBO)**

AMY SHERMAN-PALLADINO, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon)

Movies for Television and Mini-Series

SCOTT FRANK, Godless (Netflix)

BARRY LEVINSON, The Wizard of Lies (HBO)

KYRA SEDGWICK, Story of a Girl (Lifetime)


GEORGE C. WOLFE, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (HBO)

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

ANDRE ALLEN, Full Frontal with Samantha Bee, “#2061” (TBS)

PAUL G. CASEY, Real Time with Bill Maher, “#1527” (HBO)

JIM HOSKINSON, The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, “Joe Biden/Elton John” (CBS)

**WINNER: DON ROY KING, Saturday Night Live, “Host: Jimmy Fallon” (NBC)**

PAUL PENNOLINO Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, “French Elections” (HBO)

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

STAN LATHAN, Dave Chappelle: The Age of Spin (Netflix)

LINDA MENDOZA, Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize Honoring David Letterman (PBS)

PAUL PENNOLINO, Full Frontal with Samantha Bee Presents Not the White House Correspondents’ Dinner (TBS)

AMY SCHUMER, Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (Netflix)

**WINNER: GLENN WEISS, The 89th Annual Academy Awards (ABC)**

Reality Programs

HISHAM ABED, Encore!, “Pilot” (ABC)

JOHN GONZALEZ, Live PD, “Episode 50” (A&E)

**WINNER: BRIAN SMITH, MasterChef, “Vegas Deluxe & Oyster Shucks” (FOX)**

ADAM VETRI, Dare to Live, “Chainsmokers” (MTV)

KENT WEED, Spartan: The Ultimate Team Challenge, “Season Premiere” (NBC)

Children’s Programs

**WINNER: NIKI CARO, Anne with an E, “Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny” (Netflix)**

BENJAMIN LEHMANN, The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special (HBO)

LILY MARIYE, Just Add Magic, “Just Add Meddling” (Amazon)

ALISON McDONALD, An American Girl Story: Summer Camp, “Friends for Life” (Amazon)

MATTHEW O’NEILL AND THALIA SODI, 15: A Quinceañera Story, “Zoey” (HBO)


**WINNER: MARTIN de THURAH (Epoch Films) Festival, StubHub – Goodby Silverstein**

ALMA HAR’EL (Epoch Films) Love Without Bias, P&G – Wieden + Kennedy

HOFFMAN/METOYER (MJZ) Anthem, KitchenAid – DigitasLBi

MILES JAY (SMUGGLER) Alive, Bose QuietComfort 35 Headphones – Grey

ISAIAH SERET (Biscuit Filmworks) Growing Up, Samsung Galaxy – Wieden + Kennedy Portland



BRYAN FOGEL, Icarus (Netflix)

**WINNER: MATTHEW HEINEMAN, City of Ghosts (Amazon Studios)**

STEVE JAMES, Abacus: Small Enough to Jail (PBS)

ERROL MORRIS, Wormwood (Netflix)

  | East Coast Editor

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Directors Guild of America Awards: 6 best moments | My Best

Leave A Reply