Los Angeles Film Festival Award Winners: “Becks”, “The Keeping Hours” Come Out on Top


becks-bannerLos Angeles Festival

The Los Angeles Film Festival has been in full swing since it kicked off on June 14 with the world premiere of Colin Trevorrow’s The of Henry and comes to a close today with Matt Spicer’s Ingrid Goes West starring Aubrey Plaza and Elizabeth Olsen. The fest announced its winners which included Elizabeth Rohrbaugh and Daniel Powell’s musical drama Becks taking home the U.S. Fiction Award and the supernatural drama The Keeping Hours starring Lee Pace and Carrie Coon nabbing the Audience Award for Fiction Feature .

Beatriz at Dinner director Miguel Arteta, who was also the Festival Guest Director, was honored the Spirit of Independence Award while Amanda and Aaron Kopp’s animated doc Liyana, which follows the quest of five orphans in Swaziland, won the Award. Oher winners include The Night Guard (El Vigilante), Everything Beautiful is Far Away, Serpent, and Skid Row Marathon. See the complete list of winners below. 

U.S. Fiction Award
Winner: BECKS, directed by Elizabeth Rohrbaugh and Daniel Powell

U.S. Fiction Cinematography Award 
Winner: EVERYTHING BEAUTIFUL IS FAR AWAY, cinematography by Christian Sorensen Hansen and Pete Ohs

The U.S. Fiction Jury’s special mentions:
Breakout Performance: Auden Thornton, BEAUTY MARK
Directing: Bruce Thierry Cheung, DON’T COME BACK FROM THE MOON

World Fiction Award
Winner: THE NIGHT GUARD (EL VIGILANTE), directed by Diego Ros (Mexico)

The World Fiction Jury special mention:
Excellence in Storytelling: ON THE BEACH AT NIGHT ALONE (BAMUI HAE-BYUN-EOSEO-HONJA), directed by Hong Sangsoo (South Korea)

Winner: LIYANA, directed by Amanda Kopp and Aaron Kopp

LA Muse Fiction Award
Winner: AND THEN THERE WAS EVE, directed by Savannah Bloch

LA Muse Award
Winner: SKID ROW MARATHON, directed by Mark Hayes

The LA Muse Jury special mentions:
Acting: John Carroll Lynch, ANYTHING
Excellence in Storytelling: THE CLASSIC, directed by Billy McMillin

Nightfall Award
Winner: SERPENT, directed by Amanda Evans

The Nightfall Jury special mention:
Acting: Kate Nhung, THE HOUSEMAID

Award for Short
Winner: A FUNERAL FOR LIGHTNING, directed by Emily Kai Bock.

The Shorts Jury special mention:
Excellence in Storytelling: BALLOONFEST, directed by Nathan Truesdell. USA

Award for Short
Winner: BLACK AMERICA AGAIN, directed by Bradford Young. USA

Audience Award for Fiction Feature
Winner: THE KEEPING HOURS, directed by Karen Moncrieff

Audience Award for Feature
Winner: SKID ROW MARATHON, directed by Mark Hayes

Audience Award for Short
Winner: SWIM, directed by Mari Walker

Audience Award for Web-series
Winner: HIGH & MIGHTY, directed by Carlos Lopez Estrada

The Danny Elfman Project
(Previously announced winners of free licenses to Elfman’s Rabbit and Rogue album for short films):
13, Justine Quinones
THE BRIDGE, Matt Eckholm
DANDELION, Catherine Fauteux
GAMELAN, Cornelia Nicolăeasa
A GLORY SEWN, Travis Dixon
LAKESONG, Douglas Gibbens & Konstantina Mantelos
URGE, Pieter Coudyzer

 | Staff Writer

Leave A Reply