SXSW 2017: The Complete List of Jury and Special Award Winners



The jury has spoken. The winners of ’s Jury and Special Awards have been unveiled. Saturday Night Live cast member Sasheer Zamata announced the winners at a special ceremony at the Paramount Theatre in Austin. Ana Asensio’s psychological thriller Most Beautiful Island nabbed the top award in the Narrative Feature Competition while the captivating prison doc The Work earned the award for Feature Competition. The complete list of winners can be read below.

Narrative Feature Competition Winner: MOST BEAUTIFUL ISLAND, directed by Ana Asensio

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance:  James Freedson-Jackson, THE STRANGE ONES

Special Jury Recognition for Best Ensemble:Matt Jones, Eleanore Pienta, Will Rogers, Jonny Mars, Sam Eidson, Jennymarie Jemison,  A BAD IDEA GONE WRONG

Feature Competition Winner: THE WORK, directed by Jairus McLeary and Gethin Aldous

Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Observational Cinema: MAINELAND, directed by Miao Wang

Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Storytelling: I AM ANOTHER YOU, directed by: Nanfu Wang

Short Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Shorts: FOREVER NOW, directed by Kristian Håskjold

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: Tara Riggs, DEKALB ELEMENTARY

Shorts: LITTLE POTATO, drected by Wes Hurley & Nathan M. Miller

Midnight Shorts: THE SUPLEX DUPLEX COMPLEX, directed by Todd Rohal

Animated Shorts: WEDNESDAY WITH GODDARD, directed by Nicolas Menard

Special Jury Recognition: PUSSY, directed by Renata Gasiorowska

Music Videos

Winner: Leon Bridges – “River” directed by Miles Jay

Special Jury Recognition: Tame Impala – “The Less I Know The Better” directed by CANADA

Texas Shorts

Winner: THE RABBIT HUNT directed by Patrick Bresnan

Texas High School Shorts

Winner: BETTER LATE THAN NEVER, directed by Atheena Frizzell

Special Jury Recognition: DARCY’S QUINCEANARA, directed by Sam Cooper

Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design: FRY DAY, designed by Caspar Newbolt

Special Jury Recognition: LIKE ME, designed by Jeremy Enecio

Excellence in Title Design: INTO THE CURRENT, directed by Chris R. Moberg and Jared Young

Special Awards

LUNA® Gamechanger Award – Narrative: INFLAME, directed by Ceylan Ozgun Ozcelik

LUNA® Chicken & Egg Award – : I AM ANOTHER YOU, directed by Nanfu Wang

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award: MR. ROOSEVELT directed by Noel Wells

Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award: ASSHOLES directed by Peter Vack

Karen Schmeer Editing Fellowship: Leigh Johnson

 | Staff Writer

runs from March 10 through 19. For more of the Tracking Board’s of , click here.


Leave A Reply