L.A. Film Critics Association Loves “Call Me By Your Name,” “The Shape of Water”


cmbynshapeofwaterSony Pictures Classics / Fox Searchlight

Two days after the New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC) chose their annual winners — the group went with Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird — the  (LAFCA) followed suit, selecting Luca Guadagnino‘s Call Me By Your Name as their Best Picture, but giving Best Director as a tie to Guadagnino and Guillermo del Toro for The Shape of Water.

Oddly, the group’s runner-up for Best Picture was The Florida Project, rather than del Toro’s film, although his star Sally Hawkins received the accolade for Best Actress. The Shape of Water also won the Cinematography prize, as well as being a runner-up for Production Design.

Call Me By Your Name star Timothée Chalamet followed his awards from the Gothams, National Board of Review (NBR) and receiving NYFCC’s Best Actor with the same honor from the L.A. critics.

Willem Dafoe also continued his awards run, receiving the LAFCA’s award for Supporting Actor following similar wins from the NBR and the New York critics. Lady Bird‘s Laurie Metcalf received a second prize in the Supporting Actress category following NBR.

LAFCA also became the first group not to pick Disney’s Coco as their top animated feature, going instead with Nora Twomey’s The Breadwinner, released by GKIDS.

Because the group announces its runners-up, we can tell that Martin McDonagh’s Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri received votes in other categories, such as Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell in acting categories, and McDonagh’s screenplay.

The L.A. Critics Association was founded in 1975, made up of L.A.-based print and electronic media critics, including the Tracking Board’s Chief Critic Drew McWeeny. The group votes each year in 16 categories, as well as presenting a Career Achievement and New Generation Award.

The past two years, the films honored with the group’s top prize — Spotlight and Moonlight — went on to win Best Picture at the Oscars, as did The Hurt Locker in 2010. Other than that, they’ve only matched-up six times prior with three of those times before 1980. Like the New York Critics Circle, receiving Best Picture from the LAFCA can help a movie be seen by other voters, but it doesn’t guarantee a movie a free ride come Oscar night.

The group’s annual awards gala will take place on Jan. 13 at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City.

The full list of winners is below:

Best Picture: Call Me By Your Name (runner-up: The Florida Project)

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water and Luca Guadagnino, Call Me By Your Name (tie)

Best Actor: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name (runner-up: James Franco: The Disaster Artist)

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water (runner-up: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project (runner-up: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird (runner-up: Mary J. Blige, Mudbound)

Best Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Get Out (runner-up: Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Editing: Lee Smith, Dunkirk (runner-up: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya)

Best Production Design: Dennis Gassner, Blade Runner 2049 (runner-up: Paul D. Austerberry, The Shape of Water)

Best Music/Score: Jonny Greenwood, Phantom Thread (runner-up: Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water)

Best Cinematography: Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water (runner-up: Roger Deakins, Blade 2049)

Best Animation: The Breadwinner (runner-up: Coco)

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction : Faces Places (runner-upJane)

Best Foreign Language : BPM (Beats Per Minute) and Loveless (tie)

New Generation Award: Greta Gerwig

The Douglas Edwards Award for Experimental : Lee Anne Schmitt, Purge This Land

  | East Coast Editor

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: El primer trailer de Altered Carbon apunta a producto de gran factura

Leave A Reply