USC Scripter Award Nominees Include “Mindhunter” and Two Comic Book Movies


USC Scripter NomsWB/Netflix/Fox

The USC Scripter Awards have announced their finalists, which include seven nominees on the film side this year as a result of a three-way tie.This year’s finalists were selected from 91 eligible films and 28 eligible TV adaptations.

I’m more than a little surprised to see The Lost City of Z on this list, since it hasn’t been in the awards conversation much this year, though the film did appear on several Top 10 lists from critics whom I respect.

It’s interesting to note that there are two comic book movies on the list in Logan and Wonder Woman, which shows how those kinds of films are gaining respect with nominating committees.

I think you probably have to give the film award to Call Me by Your Name, though I’d be happy if Logan or The Disaster Artist won, too. And on the TV side, it’s no contest. Team Mindhunter all the way.

Check out the full list below and let me know in the comments section who you think both should win and will win.

Film Nominees

Author André Aciman and screenwriter James Ivory for Call Me by Your Name

Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for The Disaster Artist, and authors Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell for their nonfiction book “The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside ‘The Room,’ the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made”

Screenwriters Scott Frank, Michael Green, and James Mangold, and authors Roy Thomas, Len Wein, and John Romita, Sr., for Logan

Screenwriter James Gray and author David Grann for The Lost City of Z

Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin and author Molly Bloom for Molly’s Game

Screenwriters Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, and author Hillary Jordan for Mudbound

Screenwriter Allan Heinberg and author William Moulton Marston for Wonder Woman

TV Nominees

Screenwriter Sarah Polley and author Margaret Atwood for Alias Grace

David E. Kelley, for the episode “You Get What You Need” from Big Little Lies and author Liane Moriarty

Noah Pink and Ken Biller for the episode “Einstein: Chapter One” from Genius, and author Walter Isaacson for his book “Einstein: His Life and Word”

Bruce Miller for the episode “Offred” from The Handmaid’s Tale and author Margaret Atwood

Peter Landesman, George C. Wolfe, and Alexander Woo for the television film The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, and author Rebecca Skloot

Joe Penhall and Jennifer Haley for “Episode 10” of Mindhunter and authors John Douglas and Mark Olshaker for their nonfiction book “Mindhunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit”

The USC Scripter Award winners will be announced on Saturday, Feb. 10, which just so happens to be my birthday — so Mindhunter had better win, or else.

  | Editor in Chief

Leave A Reply