{TB EXCLUSIVE} TIME Editor Sam Lansky’s Memoir “The Gilded Razor” Hits The Market

0

sam lanskyCourtesy of Kathleen Fox Kamphausen

 EXCLUSIVE
〉Lansky has written for The Atlantic, Esquire, Cosmopolitan, and The Huffington Post

’s forthcoming memoir , out January 12, 2016 via Gallery Books, has now hit the market. Pitched as a contemporary Basketball Diaries in the vein of Augustin Burroughs and Bill Clegg, the non-fiction spans Lansky’s teenage years, providing a unique first-hand look at teenage adderall abuse set in the world of NYC’s elite private schools.

The memoir follows Lansky in his final year at a prestigious prep school, struggling to cope with the intense pressure of college. Slowly, he spirals out of control, succumbing to substance abuse and engaging in promiscuity, nightly clubbing, and a string of rash affairs with older men. After a harrowing overdose, Lansky journeyed from Manhattan to a boot camp in Utah, then to a psych ward in New Orleans, before he was finally able to come to terms with his own anxieties and accept himself. Lansky’s debut has been described as a “coming-of-age story of honesty and lyricism that introduces a powerful new voice to the confessional genre.” (Amazon.com synopsis)

Though The Gilded Razor marks Lansky’s debut, the emerging author has already made a name for himself as a pop culture journalist. Lansky has had his work appear in numerous publications, including New York magazine, The Atlantic, Cosmopolitan, Esquire, Billboard, The Huffington Post, Out, Grantland, and MTV.com. Lansky currently serves as Deputy Culture Editor at TIME Magazine, after previously serving as senior editor at Idolator.

Lansky’s memoir is repped by at and at the Andrew Stuart Agency.

—SEE THE FILM RIGHTS LISTING HERE—

 | Associate Editor
Share.

Leave A Reply